Congress 2022

«After Post-Positivism»

III Congress of the Russian Society for History and Philosophy of Science

September 8-10, 2022

Saratov, Russia

Congress Program

Russian Society for History and Philosophy of Science, Saratov National Research State University and Saratov State Law Academy cordially invite philosophers and all scientists interested in HPS to the III Congress of the Russian Society for History and Philosophy of Science «After Post-Positivism», which will take place on September 8-10, 2022 in Saratov, Russia.

The Congress will commemorate the centenaries of two eminent philosophers of the 20th century, Thomas Kuhn (1922-1996) and Imre Lakatos (1922-1974). The Congress will consider the legacy of Thomas Kuhn and Imre Lakatos in the context of contemporary debates in the history and philosophy of science, the relevance of postpositivist strategies in general, their significance for the development of modern epistemological, social and historical studies of science and their impact on the formation of principles and methods of scientific activity. The congress will also discuss general issues of the history and philosophy of science and technology, methodology of particular disciplines, the problems of the social status of scientific knowledge, and scientific communication practices.

The Organizing Committee

Co-chairs of Organizing Committee: 
Ilya Kasavin, Corresponding Member of Russian Academy of Sciences, President of the RSHPS;
Igor Nevvazhay, Professor, Head of Philosophy Department, Saratov State Law Academy.

Secretary of the organizing committee: Denis Artamonov, Associate professor of philosophy and methodology of science of Saratov National Research State University.

Members of the organizing committee: 
Sergey Belousov (SSLA), Mikhail Orlov (SNRSU); Lyudmila Aksenovskaya (SNRSU), Elena Belinskaya (MSU); Sergey Danilov (SNRSU); Alexander Mikhelev (SSLA); Vitaly Ogleznev (SPbSU).

The Program Committee

Co-chairs of the Program Committee: 
Lada Shipovalova, Head of the Department of Philosophy of Science and Technology, St. Petersburg State University;
Vitaly Kosykhin, Head of the Department of Philosophy and Methodology of Science, Saratov National Research State University.

Secretary of the Program Committee: 
Sophia Tikhonova, Professor of the Department of Theoretical and Social Philosophy, Saratov National Research State University.

Members of the program committee: 
Valentin Bazhanov (Ulyanovsk State University); Elena Andriyanova (Saratov State Medical University); Andrey Sevalnikov (Institute of Philosophy RAS); Vadim Vasiliev (Moscow State University); Vladimir Markin (Moscow State University); Natalia Yastreb (Vologda State University); Irina Griftsova (Moscow Pedagogical State University); Marianna Shakhnovich (St. Petersburg State University); Sergey Katrechko, (Russian Orthodox University of St. John the Evangelist, Moscow); Alexander Dorozhkin (Nizhnij Novgorod State University).

Keynote speakers:
Ilya Kasavin (Institute of Philosophy of RAS); Natalia Kuznetsova (Vavilov Institute for the History of Science and Technology of RAS); Igor Nevvazhay (Saratov State Law Academy), Paul Hoyningen-Huene, (Zürich), Vladimir Porus (Russian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science), Grigory Tulchinsky (Higher School of Economics, St. Petersburg), Steve Fuller (Warwick University), Igor Dmitriev (Herzen State Pedagogical University, St. Petersburg), Cheryce von Xylander (the Leuphana University Lüneburg )

At Saratov National Research State Univeristy
History and Philosophy of Mathematics (organizers: V. Bazhanov, A. Kritchevetz, Ju. Shevtzova)
History and Philosophy of Natural Sciences (K. Ivanov, V. Terekhovich, R. Maslov)
History of Philosophy of Psychology (L. Aksenovskaya, E. Belinskaya)
Science and Society (L. Shipovalova, S. Tikhonova, O. Stolyarova)
Philosophical Problems of Computer Science and Information Technologies (N. Yastreb, N. Kovaleva)
Science and Religion (M. Orlov, M. Shakhnovich)

At Saratov State Law Academy
History and Philosophy of Social Sciences and Humanities (I. Nevvazhay, V. Perov, Ju. Kolesnikov)
Philosophical Problems of Cognitive Science (V. Vasiliev, A. Kuznetsov, M. Shugurov)
Philosophical Logic (V. Markin, I. Mikirtumov, V. Erokhin)
Rhetoric of Science (I. Griftzova, G. Sorina, N. Erokhina)

At Saratov State Medical University
Institutional and Socio-Cultural Dimension of Modern Medical Science (E. Andriyanova, O. Popova)

Round Tables:
Kantian Transcendentalism as Metaphysics of Possible Experience: Realism and/or Anti-Realism (S. Katrechko, V. Kosykhin, A. Shiyan)
Breaking up with Positivism: Experience and Strategies of Historians of Science (N. Kuznetsova, E. Zheltova, M. Bogatov).
The Second Quantum Revolution and the Incommensurability of Scientific Paradigms (A. Sevalnikov, N. Golovko, E. Ivanov)
Science as a Political Subject (V. Porus, A. Demidov)
Visual Ecology of Digital Reality (V. Savchuk, K. Ocheretyany, R.G. Lipidin)
Theoretical Understanding of Myth in Scientific Methodology (A. Ivanov, A. Linchenko, D. Artamonov)
Digital Anthropology: Object, Methodology, History and Perspectives (A. Dydrov, N. Kozin)

Call for papers Celebrating the 100th anniversary of Max Weber’s “Science as a Vocation”

Call for papers

 Celebrating the 100th anniversary of Max Weber’s “Science as a Vocation”

 The Russian Society for History and Philosophy of Science and the journal “Epistemology & Philosophy of Science” announce a contest among young researchers, graduate and undergraduate students and call for papers directly or indirectly related to Max Weber’s seminal “Science as a Vocation”.

 The winners will be announced in four nominations:

 – epistemology

– history of science

– ethics of science

– sociology of science and scientific knowledge

 Three prizes will be given in each nomination:

 1st prize: 50,000 rubles and a certificate

2nd prize: 20,000 rubles and a certificate

3rd prize: a certificate

 All winning papers will be published in “Epistemology & Philosophy of Science”

 The age of participants must be less than 40 years on May 14, 2019. No restrictions by citizenship or affiliation of participants, as well as by their gender, sexual orientation, political or religious views apply.

 All participating papers must be formatted according to the guidelines of “Epistemology & Philosophy of Science” ( and sent to The subject of the email must say “Contest 2019”.

 Submission deadline: April 15, 2019

The winners will be announced on May 14, 2019